Hello 2012! (Gateau Chocolat)

So I bid goodbye to 2011 with lots of culinary experiences but a few post about them. It has been a busy year for me and family. It should be a busier year for us again as we enter 2012 with more plans, resolutions, hopes, and goals.

Our plans to go back to the Philippines have been moved so both Rad and I are back to keeping the tradition of Noche Buena and Media Noche on our own. However, we were concerned on how staying up late would affect the kids’ sleeping pattern so we decided to just have the dinners earlier than midnight. Kaye was cooperative but, Ken was another matter. No matter how much cajoling and coercing we did, his eyes just won’t close. Instead of getting worked up about it, we simply let him take his time. Then Rad began to have a craving for some chocolate ganache.

I started making ganache then, it turned out to be a full-blown baking stint at 12 midnight, And Ken decided to get up and get his hands dirty (or yummy) too.  This time, we cooked Gateau Chocolat.

I have always liked the gateau at Beard Papa’s. It is soooo decadent, just looking at eat gives me calorie fever. I borrowed this recipe book by Teranishi Eriko from our library in school and it has a simple recipe in it. The recipe called for sweet chocolate but the word “sweet” somehow arouses some calorie-guilt feelings so I always stock up on milk chocolate instead (for all the difference it makes haha). Most of the time, I limit my egg usage to just one per cake-baking but this time, I went for all 3.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 100 g granulated sugar
  • 80 g  milk chocolate
  • 60 g unsalted butter
  • 50 ml fresh cream
  • 20 g flour
  • 40 g cocoa (I used Van Houten)
  • a little salt

Procedure:

  1.  Sift all dried ingredients and set aside. Separate the yolk from the egg whites.
  2. Melt the butter and the chocolate. You can do this in a bowl over hot water or just pop it in your microwave. (I used the microwave because Ken likes to set and push the buttons.)
  3. Pour half of the sugar into the 3 egg yolks and beat until the mixture is whitish or of lighter color than the original.
  4. Pour (2) in (3) a little at a time and beat/mix well.
  5. Add the fresh cream. Mix well.
  6. Mix in the dry ingredients.
  7. Add the rest of the sugar into the egg whites and beat until you get stiff peaks. (I had to stop midway because the mixer was too noisy. It was already past midnight and Japan does not celebrate New Year the way Philippines do.)
  8. Pour (7) into the batter and mix well.
  9. Bake at 160℃ for 30 minutes (or 40 minutes).  They were puffy when they came out but we shrunk as they cooled. I served it with the ganache. Good thing about it, you can serve it hot or cold!

When I tasted it, I couldn’t help but exclaim over the way it just melted in my mouth. It was not overly sweet like the store-bought ones, in fact, it is not sweet at all. It is sweet enough to keep you wanting for more. My kids do not like overly sweet goods. Ken does not even like Butterfinger or Crunch choco bars but he wanted to eat everything there and then!

He was still pouting when he went to bed but his words when he woke up were, “Mama, I’ll eat my cake for breakfast!”

Happy New Year everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

