Chocolate Muffins

More than 2 years ago, Rad and I went to Bagel and Bagel to buy, well, bagels, and on a whim, I added their chocolate-pineapple muffin. I sooo loved that muffin that the memory of it still lingers.  I have been experimenting and researching and trying other recipes since. Yesterday, I tried yet another and I think I finally found it.  I did the the ever popular banana-chocolate muffin but the cake base is perfect for what I was imagining.

Ingredients:

  • 150 g unsalted butter
  • 110 g  sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp fresh cream
  • 170 g flour
  • 30 g cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • salt
  1. Add the dry ingredients and sift. Set aside.
  2. Mix butter and granulated sugar and beat until the mixture turns lighter.
  3. Slowly add the 2 beaten eggs.
  4. Pour the fresh cream. Mix.
  5. Add in the dry ingredients.
  6. Mix until the dry ingredients are just wet or moistened.
  7. Bake at 180℃ for 25-30 minutes.

The cake was light and fluffy. The normal brown or white sugar can be used though. I tried the normal brown sugar and substituted the butter with 1/2 cup cooking oil and I didn’t notice a very big difference. I tried the confectioner’s sugar too at the same measurement but of course it was less sweet so may have to add more although the texture of the cake was better. For the banana muffin, I just added 2-3 bananas, mashed plus 1/2 tsp vanilla essence after adding in the fresh cream.

Leave a Reply

