Bread Pudding

I came home yesterday itching to make something. I couldn’t go out and shop because I promised myself not to buy more food unless those in the fridge or pantry are consumed. Rad asked me to buy soft bread loaf for Ken though because he likes it with peanut butter. I usually buy 2 kinds- the soft and more expensive one and the brown, harder but cheaper one. The cheaper one is the usual loaf which I always toast and  smear with butter and cinnamon sugar. Lately I didn’t have the energy to put butter and slice the bread so we had a lot of bread left seeking our gastronomic attention.

I searched the internet for recipes but most I saw used more than 3 pieces of eggs and a lot of sugar. So, I decided to throw caution to the wind and experimented with my own proportions.

Ingredients

  • About 3 cups of bread
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 3 tsp fresh cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/3 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • About 1 cup crushed pineapple

Procedure

  1. Soak the bread in the milk for about 30 minutes. For a more smoother texture you might want to crush the bread when they are already soft enough.
  2. Mix the rest of the ingredients in a separate bowl.
  3. Mix (1) in (2).
  4. Bake at 180 degrees for 45- 60 minutes.

The result was sweet but not too sweet bread pudding. Just a perfect pair with tea or coffee. The bread I used was thicker than the usual and not very airy so it may have been around 4 cups of torn bread including the crusts. I used an 8-inch diameter cake pan. It was better when it cooled down a bit.

Leave a Reply

