Fry Pan Steamed Cake

Image

Spring break is nearly over and I just had to post at least one before work starts again. So all those free time in school were spent mostly behind my desk pretending to be busy or holed up in the library browsing on recipe books. I have been baking almost every other day for school or church but mostly for the Rad and the kids. It seems that  we always run out of bread or biscuits to give the kids for snack lately so I have to make more before I leave for work.

Eating baked goods everyday is not good especially for us adults. Although I don’t use butter, minimize the sugar and I limit the number of eggs I use to just 1 per baking, Rad and I can still feel those calories stacking up in our bodies. Today, I found this cake in one of the old recipe books. It is called Mushi Cake (蒸しケーキ) or steamed cake. I’ll call it Fry Pan Cake because, I cooked it in a fry pan.

Ingredients:     Makes 6 servings

  • 100 g       flour
  • 3 tbsp      sugar
  • 1 tsp        baking powder
  • 1 tbsp      cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp      salad oil
  • 75 ml       mil
  • chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Sift the dry ingredients. (Or not if you are in a hurry. It still works.)
  2. Add in the wet ingredients and just mix thoroughly.
  3. Pour the batter into foil cups or silicon cups. (The ones I used were actually for bento but silicon is silicon. )
  4. Put them in a fry pan, add half cup of water (or 1/4 cup). (I put a lot because I thought 1/4 cup wasn’t enough).
  5. Cover the fry pan and steam for 8 minutes or until you can see the crust breaks.

It was easy, fast, no egg, no butter and still very delicious. Ken ate 2 right away. You can also make the cheese version by omitting the cocoa and adding cream cheese or any cheese when you pour the batter.

Mangantayon!

Leave a Reply

